Congregation Ohav Shalom

Building Community Celebrating Tradition

113 New Krumkill Road, Albany, NY 12208 / (518) 489-4706 / Email Us /

Congregation Ohav Shalom Announces New Board Members

Posted on July 9, 2019

Albany, NY – Congregation Ohav Shalom in Albany, is pleased to announce three new members of its Board of Trustees, as well as the full listing of officers and board members for 2019-2020.

Joining the Board of Trustees this year are Joshua Cantor-Stone, Joshua Schulman-Marcus and Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen. “All three of our newest Board members embody the spirit of community and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table. We are very fortunate to have them by our side as we continue to strengthen our shul,” said Judy Avner, Ohav Shalom’s President.

Joshua Cantor-Stone comes from a family that is deeply committed to synagogue and Jewish communal life in Texas. He is a graduate of Yale and most recently received his Master of Public Administration from the University at Albany. Joshua is a Project Manager for the Jahnel Group, a software development company in Schenectady. He and his wife Sarah, a doctoral student in the University of Albany’s Department of Atmospheric Sciences, live in the City of Albany. Joshua recently completed the YESOD program, which is the Jewish Federation’s leadership development program.



Joshua Schulman-Marcus and his family joined Ohav Shalom after relocating to the Capital Region in 2016. Joshua is a cardiologist at Albany Medical Center. After completing his undergraduate studies at Brown University, Joshua earned his medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. He completed a residency in internal medicine at New York Presbyterian Hospital, where he also completed his fellowship training in cardiovascular disease. Joshua and his family can be found at shul on most Shabbat mornings.



Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen has 16 years of experience with General Electric in a variety of Finance roles across the Energy sector (Gas Power, Wind Energy, Solar Power) and currently serves as the Executive Finance Systems Leader for the Gas Power division. She has previously held roles with increasing responsibility in the areas of Financial Planning and Analysis, Financial Project Management and Acquisitions/Dispositions. She also manages the GE Power finance leadership development program, an early career program mentoring 40 participants per year. Jessica earned her Bachelor’s degree in Finance and International Business from Penn State University and her MBA from Union College. Jessica and her husband Adam stay very busy raising their 3 daughters.


Congregation Ohav Shalom, led by Rabbi Daniel Ornstein and Rabbi Rena Kieval, is a Conservative Egalitarian Synagogue affiliated with The United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism. The synagogue is fortunate to have a dynamic and diverse Board of Trustees who are deeply committed to its mission and purpose. Their leadership, combined with the efforts of all our volunteers and our membership involvement, makes Ohav the special place it is.

The full Leadership Listing of the Ohav Shalom Board of Trustees for 2019-2020 | 5779-5780 follows:

Judy Avner, President; Shari Piper, Secretary; Ed Jacobs, First Vice President; Gregg Fox, Treasurer; Andy Salem, Second Vice President; Libby Post, Immediate Past President

Board of Trustees (listed alphabetically)
Antoinette Deitcher, Wendy Kay Bates, Joshua Cantor-Stone, Jane Ginsburg, Brad Gornstein, Aaron Israel, Jean Kaback, Jeremy Kassel, David Levine, Sharon Lozman, Deborah Sturm Rausch, Heather Rockwood, Joshua Schulman-Marcus, Kathryn Sheingold, Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen, Susan Ungerman, Jay Worona, Margery Zucker