Congregation Ohav Shalom

Building Community Celebrating Tradition

113 New Krumkill Road, Albany, NY 12208 / (518) 489-4706 / Email Us /

Shomrei Habayit Brunch at Ohav Shalom to Honor Jeff and Debbie Cohen and Libby Post and Lynn Dunning-Vaughn

Posted on November 28, 2017

On Sunday, December 10 at 11 am, Congregation Ohav Shalom will honor Jeff and Debbie Cohen and Libby Post and Lynn Dunning-Vaughn at its annual Shomrei Habayit Gala Brunch at 113 New Krumkill Road, Albany.  The award recipients are being honored for their ongoing and outstanding commitment to Congregation Ohav Shalom. The Honorary Co-Chairs are Judy Avner and Stephen Eckert and Gregg and Jennifer Fox. 

Honoree Jeff Cohen has served in a leadership capacity at Ohav Shalom for seven years:  first as Treasurer for five years and then as President for two more.  It was during his term as Treasurer that Ohav undertook its highly successful Capital Campaign which resulted in a major renovation of the synagogue.  Along with the Rabbis and Temple Israel leadership, Jeff helped achieve the merger of the two Hebrew Schools into one, now called B’Yachad.  Jeff continues to serve as Chair of the Cemetery Committee.

Honoree Debbie Cohen served as Secretary of Ohav Shalom’s Education Committee for several years.  She has chaired a number of Ohav’s gala/celebrations including:  Rabbi Rena becoming a Rabbi; the Educator of the Year event honoring Dan Sanders; Rabbi Dan Ornstein’s “Bar Mitzvah”; and the Adult B’Nai Mitzvah Class 0f 2006.  She has also served as Co-Chair of the Maccabi Games Opening Ceremonies.

Honoree Libby Post served on the Board of Directors in the mid-90s and joined the board for a second time, serving as president for two terms from 2012-2016.  Among her achievements as president, she streamlined procedures and processes, improved working relationships between synagogue leadership and staff; helped to stabilize synagogue finances; increased fundraising efforts; and revamped the Cemetery policies to make them more equitable. After completing her tenure as president, Libby served as president of the B’Yachad Board for a year to bring stability and focus to the school.

Honoree Lynn Dunning-Vaughn has been lending her design talents to Ohav Shalom for many years.  In addition to serving on Ohav’s Board of Trustees and as chair of the Life Long Learning committee, Lynn has designed the synagogue’s multi-purpose Kolbo Room, redesigned the library, and designed sets for several Noodle Pudding Players productions.  She also organized and managed the furniture set-up for a refugee family adopted by Ohav Shalom in 2016.  In addition, Lynn served on the Ohav Cemetery By-Laws Revision Committee and on three Executive Director Search Committees. 

The cost to attend the brunch is $72 per person or $136 per person for Honorary Committee ($250 per couple).  Reservations are required by Tuesday, December 5.  Check payable to Congregation Ohav Shalom should be mailed to 113 New Krumkill Road, Albany, NY  12208.  For more information, please call the Ohav Shalom office at 518-489-4706 X10.

Congregation Ohav Shalom, led by Rabbi Daniel Ornstein and Rabbi Rena Kieval, is a Conservative/Egalitarian Synagogue affiliated with The United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism.